Google Reader Alternatives

photo credit: Hamed Saber via photopin cc

photo credit: Hamed Saber via photopin cc

If you haven’t heard already, Google Reader is going offline at the end of June. I have been looking at a few alternatives and here’s what I found:

Feedly – Probably the most popular of the lot. It is very slick but I didn’t like it because it just throws too much stuff at you. I don’t want fancy gadgets and animations and three hundred buttons (Get off my lawn!). That said, Feedly has everything covered, including apps for iOS and Android and all that jazz. However, I read all my feeds on my computer so these aren’t a selling point.Feedly is also “social” and lets you share your stories with friends, kinda like your Facebook Wall. Finally Feedly needs to be installed as an in-browser app.

NewsBlur – The other big player in the market. A lot like Feedly. Has apps for iOS, Android and even Nokia MeeGo. Also Social. Also has too much stuff for me. NewsBlur is only free for upto 64 sites. Any more and you have to pay for it, but they charge you only $2/month. Well worth paying if you enjoy using NewsBlur.

NetVibes – NetVibes is browser based like Google Reader, doesn’t seem to have the extra shiny stuff. It also has an iGoogle like homepage that you may like if you ever used iGoogle (remember that?). I haven’t used NetVibes but I have heard good things about them.

theoldreader – This is what I use currently. It preserves a lot of the look and feel of Google Reader. Simple and straightforward. Perfect for an old fart like me.

If you want to learn more or figure out how to migrate your feeds over from Google Reader, there is a LifeHacker article that can help you out.

2 responses »

  1. Peter – Thanks for a look at the alternatives. I’m glad there are some decent ones out there.

    Reply
    • Peter Reynard

      You’re welcome Margot. I only just scraped the surface of what’s possible. There are other readers that exist only for tablets and phones, but since I don’t read my feeds that way, I didn’t even bother checking them out.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

