NaNoWriMo update

I signed up for NaNoWriMo last year and though the whole idea conjures up visions of having the first draft of a book in a month, I went into it with a blank slate as far as expectations were concerned. I guess there was a part of me that resisted any idea of churning out a novel in such a short time, and I think that resistance came because of the time I spent writing The Natural Victim.

So how did I do?
Not well.

I started out pretty good. For the first few days, I was hitting my goals but there was this nagging doubt in the back of my head that what I was writing wasn’t very good. I knew that wasn’t the point of NaNoWriMo but it still didn’t sit well with me. Churning out a lot of words wasn’t high on my agenda I guess. I didn’t have writer’s block, just a regular case of writer’s laziness, and the way to get through it was to write my usual quota of 1000 words/day rather than the 1677 words/day that NaNoWriMo required. Besides, I like thinking through my plots as I write and the extra 677 words/day puts a cramp on that thinking because I only write for about an hour every day. In fairness to NaNoWriMo, it did deliver on its promise… I doubled the size of my novel in a week (I had started this one a while ago but put it off to focus on The Natural Victim) but I feel if I hadn’t stopped when I did I would have had to rewrite a large part of it.

I won’t be signing up for NaNoWriMo again but I’m glad I did it once, for two reasons – One, I have a better understanding of how I write, and two,it did help me find the following site –  http://bestofnanowrimo.tumblr.com/.

2 responses »

  1. Peter – I give you credit for taking on the challenge. And if it helped you to focus and gave you some good inforomation, well then it was worth it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

