Dueling Monsters

Dueling MonstersAs if I didn’t have enough books to read on my TBR pile, or maybe because of it, I have signed up for this year’s Dueling Monsters challenge co-hosted by Softdrink at Fizzy Thoughts and Trish at Love, Laughter, and a Touch of Insanity.

The premise of the challenge is wicked cool if you are not familiar with it already. For the month of October, participants read one or both of the selected books and compare and contrast the respective monsters. It’s like a bake-off but with lots of blood and gore. Now to the best part – the monsters (and books). In the “Freddy Krueger” corner wearing blood-red is Patrick Bateman from American Psycho. And in the “Jack Torrance” corner wearing straightjacket-white is Hannibal Lecter from Red Dragon. I have seen movie versions of both books but I have yet to read either of them. And, after a few months of nothing but mystery (and non-fiction), I’m ready for  little bit (or a lot) of gore just in time for Halloween.

If you are interested in the challenge, head on over to The Estella Society’s Dueling Monster’s page and poke around.

4 responses »

  1. Peter – I’ll be interested to learn which of these human monsters gets the nod. Thanks for the ‘heads up.’

    Reply
  2. I just saw this, what a great challenge/event. Immediately i’m for Hannibal but only read and seen Silence of the Lambs. Hope I have the time to join this challenge.

    Reply
    • It is such a great idea. I’m in the same boat as you. I’ve seen Silence of the Lambs (and the two versions of Psycho as well), and seen parts of Hannibal on T. V. I’m hoping the books are even better. I hope you have the time to do this challenge.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

