Back in the saddle again

Wow, time flies when you are traveling+sick+at a family wedding. I’ve fallen behind on my blogging, reader, and the alphabet meme. This post takes care of the blogging part. πŸ™‚ I fixed my reader problems by unsubscribing from half of the blogs, and marking the rest as read. So, here’s to new beginnings. I hope to get back on track with the alphabet meme in the next few days. Thankfully, my writing remains unaffected but that’s only because I managed to finish my first draft right before I fell sick, so this forced layoff is the perfect break before I start editing. There’s a lot of work to be done though. I was shooting for 60,000 but the current draft is 30,000 words. I feel that’s ok. The story has reached its logical conclusion and as I edit I can add a subplot or two. Besides, and I really need to do this, I have to do a better job of fleshing out my characters. But that’s all beside the point, which is… I FINISHED MY FIRST DRAFT!

This is huge, mainly because I have started three or four other books before stopping a few chapters in. This is the first time I have a first draft. I feel confident. Not that the book will be any good but that I can actually finish it. Better still, I don’t feel any anxiety or dread, just anticipation. I must enjoy this feeling while I can. πŸ™‚

So, tell me, how was your first time?

Leave a Reply

