A journey of a thousand miles starts with but a single step

So said Lao-Tse. This is the first step of my journey to sixty thousand words and an e-book published on Amazon. 1000 words a day for two months, and a month to edit, rewrite and publish. Three months, start to finish. Today I wrote that first word. I still don’t have a title and haven’t found names for my two protagonists, but I have the story in mind. It is a detective story in the classic fashion of Agatha Christie and Conan Doyle. I realize that ideas are a dime-a-dozen and that it is the execution that counts. But, standing here at the start with the entire book stretching ahead of me, I feel that simply writing sixty thousand words will by itself be quite a feat and a major victory regardless of whether the book does well or not. I’m rooting that it does though.

One of the goals for this blog is to document the slog and, more importantly, keep the stats; two of them to be exact – the time I spent writing and the number of words I wrote.

Day 1

The first day took a little longer than usual because I spent the first part of it thinking up some names for my characters. Most of the names came easily but I’m still stuck on the two main ones. My wife suggested that I would be better served picking a random name and substituting a better one later on. Can’t really argue with that. So I took her advice, picked two random names and charged on with much haste. All told it took me about an hour to put down 1000 words which is about par for the course for me. I’m curious to see if my speed increases as I get used to the rigor of writing a 1000 words a day every day. Of course at this rate I know there will be much editing to do later on.

Time: 5:30p-7:30p

Word count: 1129

Leave a Reply

